Skip to Content

Citizen Visioning Committee and Steering Committee

Citizens Visioning Committee

The original Citizens Visioning Committee (CVC) for the development of the Comprehensive Transportation Plan (CTP) vision and goals was comprised of Chris Applegate (Red Earth Group, Sierra Club), Roger Brown (Norman Public Schools), Teresa Capps (Chair--Social and Voluntary Services Commission), Nick Hathaway (OU Vice President for Administration and Finance), Harold Heiple (Norman Developer's Council), Marion Hutchison (ONTRAC Board), Doug Myers (Director--CART), Chris Nanny (Chair--CART Disability Advisory Committee), Janice Oak (Progressive Independence), Renee O'Leary (United Way--Senior Council/Positive Aging Influence), Helen Robertson (Representative--Bicycle Advisory Committtee), Tom Sherman (Chair--Chamber Transportation Committee), Joe Sparks (Chair--Norman Convention and Visitor's Bureau), Walt Strong (Administrator--Westheimer Airport), Chuck Thompson (Chair--Central OK Regional Advocacy Alliance), Larry Walker (Chair--Public Art Board), and Brad Worster (Commercial Realtor/Norman Next).

As the CTP moves forward from visioning to analysis, recommendations and documentation, the citizen involvement in the CTP is increased to include members of the original CVC plus additional citizens, organized into four sub-committees to interface with City staff as well as the consulting team.  These sub-committees include 1) Automobile Capacity and Quality of Service and Parking; 2) Pedestrian and Bicycle Mobility and Safety and Streetscape; 3) Transit Capacity and Quality of Service; and 4) Freight Movement, Airports and Emergency Response.  Each of these sub-committees will be chaired or co-chaired by a current member of the CVC in order to facilitate the flow of information between the CVC and the various sub-committees.

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee for the visioning and goal setting stage of the CTP was comprised of members of the City Council's Community Planning and Transportation Committee.  This Committee will also serve as the Steering Committee as the CTP moves forward from visioning into analysis, recommendations and documentation.